Hooray for Norman Bay!

Hello Them Days readers!

I’m in Charlottetown right now, having just returned from a day trip to Norman Bay. It’s a beautiful day for a ski-doo ride today, and I had a very nice one indeed! The views are just spectacular…I took lots of pictures!

The students in Norman Bay were incredibly friendly and had lots of questions about Them Days and being an editor – it was great to see everybody so interested! They also wrote some great stories. I have to admit, I love visiting these small schools. None of the schools along the coast are really large by most standards, but schools like Raymond Ward Memorial in Norman Bay are just so cozy! It’s nice when everybody in a class feels so comfortable with each other – it’s great for interactivity and discussions in class. Thanks guys!

Norman Bay, pop. 60 - a sign on the trail

Norman Bay, pop. 60 - a sign on the trail

Raymond Ward Memorial School in Norman Bay

Raymond Ward Memorial School in Norman Bay

A view of the community from the school

A view of the community from the school

A big hill just outside of Norman Bay

A big hill just outside of Norman Bay

Well, that’s it for now – once I get back to Goose Bay, I’ll update with photos from Cartwright, Black Tickle, Port Hope Simpson and Charlottetown. I’ve had a great time on the first leg of my south coast visits, so I owe everybody along the way a great big thank you for all your help and encouragement and friendly faces. School’s almost done for the day here in Charlottetown though, so I’ve only got a short time on the Internet today. Have a good long weekend everybody, and happy Easter!

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, School Days at Them Days, travel

Leave a Reply

