South Coast leg 2 – St. Lewis

I woke up bright and early the morning of my flight to St. Lewis, also known as/formerly known as Fox Harbour. The flight leaves Goose Bay so early in the morning! Then it makes a lot of stops along the south coast: Cartwright, Black Tickle, Charlottetown, Port Hope Simpson, William’s Harbour and finally St. Lewis. (Then it continues on to Mary’s Harbour and St. Anthony before turning around and doing it all in reverse order!) Between Black Tickle and Charlottetown the time zone changes to Newfoundland time, and so time moves ahead half an hour. That means it’s about 11:00 when the plane lands!

You can see most of the town from around the airport, and it’s spread out along the harbour, lots of cute white houses dotting the shore or just up the hill from it.

As I mentioned in an earlier post (when I’d just gotten off the plane!), everybody in St. Lewis was so nice to me the entire time there! I can’t emphasize enough how great the students are there. (And one of them said he read the blog – hello Troy!) I also managed to get an interview done while I was there, so I’m sure you’ll be seeing it in an upcoming issue of Them Days. In fact, I would have probably gotten more, but since the weather was so gorgeous while I was there, everybody was out enjoying the sunshine and getting all those spring chores done! I’d love to get back to St. Lewis again, so once the road opens up between Goose Bay and Cartwright, maybe I’ll be down for another visit!

And now, the photos!

Blue skies in St. Lewis.   The weather was beautiful the entire time I was there - well, except when there was snow on the ground one morning.  But other than that, the weather was gorgeous!

Blue skies in St. Lewis. The weather was beautiful the entire time I was there - well, except when there was snow on the ground one morning. But other than that, the weather was gorgeous!

This photo was taken at the airport.  For some reason, when it comes to flying, St. Lewis is called Fox Harbour (the town's former name) but when it comes to pretty much everything else, it's St. Lewis.  A lot of people still refer to it as Fox Harbour though.  (The name was changed because there's another Fox Harbour in Newfoundland and the mail was getting mixed up or something.)

This photo was taken at the airport. For some reason, when it comes to flying, St. Lewis is called Fox Harbour (the town's former name) but when it comes to pretty much everything else, it's St. Lewis. A lot of people still refer to it as Fox Harbour though. (The name was changed because there's another Fox Harbour in Newfoundland and the mail was getting mixed up or something.)

I thought this was a beautiful shot of the moon overlooking the town.

I thought this was a beautiful shot of the moon overlooking the town.

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, School Days at Them Days, travel

Leave a Reply

