Big Land Fair 2009

This past Saturday was the Big Land Fair. Kelly and I had prepared a few archive photos for sale to go along with our usual goods – 2010 calendar, Christmas cards, special issues, gift sets, Caribou Cakes cookbook, etc. It was great to see so many people drop by our booth to peruse our goods, or just to say hi! I really like working at the booth and getting to see tons of people.

One of the photos we were selling was of Spotted Islands, and that really generated a lot of discussion. I think I’ll have to put a Spotted Islands story in the magazine soon! Another popular photo was that of the Birch Island Bridge, and so many people told us their memories of the bridge.

Thanks to Shawn, Linda, Bob and Morgon who helped with the booth throughout the day!

I didn’t get a picture of myself working at the booth, but here’s Kelly and Linda:

Kelly and Linda working the booth

Kelly and Linda working the booth

Kelly did the morning shift and I did the afternoon, so I was around when all the draws were held. I won a cooler from CLEAN! This is exciting because I don’t win things ever! Again, I didn’t get a picture of me winning it or even me at the Fair with it, but here’s a photo of me in my house with my cooler.

Here I am with my winning cooler.  Please excuse the messy house - I just moved in!

Here I am with my winning cooler. Please excuse the messy house - I just moved in!

(To be honest, I’m just itching to do a little history of my house. Everybody seems to have a story about visiting it over the years, and it’s making me realize that there are neat little histories about so many places around here!)

After the Big Land Fair, I stopped by my old apartment and harvested the little vegetable garden we had growing there. Hey, I had a brand new cooler to put everything in!

My prize cooler holding my (less than) prize vegetables.

My prize cooler holding my (less than) prize vegetables.

So yeah…it wasn’t exactly the most bountiful of harvests, but we did get a few radishes, a few peppers, some peas (we’d harvested some about a month ago, but we had even more that were picked on Saturday), coriander, dill and savoury. Our lettuce didn’t do so well, but I have eaten some really good, big lettuce from around here so I know it can be grown locally! Next summer I hope to have an even bigger garden that will be more successful. I have a new yard and I can’t wait to get things out of it! It already grows strawberries, raspberries and rhubarb without assistance!

That’s it for now! Stay warm and dry!

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, Kelly, Sales

Leave a Reply

