New volunteer at Them Days

Hello everyone, this is Caroline, I’m the new Katimavik volunteer at Them Days and I will be working here until the end of November. I am so excited to be working here, I can’t wait to learn more about the magazine and Labrador and its history. What I’ve done so far is help Aimee prepare for the open house, I worked a little bit on the index and I’ve been transcribing an interview. I will also be working on an article about Katimavik in Labrador, which I can’t wait to be doing, I hope I will be up for the challenge!

I’ll tell you a little bit about myself and why I decided to embark on the Katimavik adventure. I’m 20 years old, and I’m from Gatineau, Québec, which is only 10 or 15 minutes from Ottawa and I’ve lived there my whole life. I chose to do Katimavik because I wanted to try new things, step out of my comfort zone, broaden my horizons, learn more about myself and Canada, I didn’t really know what to do next and ever since I heard about Katimavik in high school I’ve wanted to do it. I’m really happy that my first rotation is in Goose Bay, because I’ve been to Newfoundland many times, but only once to Labrador and I didn’t know much about it.

 Since I’ve been here (already three weeks!), I learned so much about Labrador and its rich culture and history, there is so much that is left to be discovered and I can’t wait! I arrived in Goose bay on September the 8th to meet ten other participants that I didn’t know from all over Canada and we’ve already grown so close and know so much about each other. Two participants already left, but we’re getting a new person on October the 4th and we can’t wait to meet him. Our project leader Trish is amazing, she is always so happy and energetic and motivated to be here, she makes everyday seem like a new adventure, I’m so glad to have her as a PL! We are now down to 9 participants, but they are all great people to be around and bring something different to the team. Anyway, I should get back to work, there is lots to be done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Caroline, Katimavik

Leave a Reply

