Last day at Them Days

It has already been almost 3 months since my arrival in Goose bay and I’m already leaving, I love it sooo much!! I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. I loved everything about Goose Bay and Labrador, and I’m going to miss it very much. Labrador is a unique and exceptional place, and to me there is no other place like it. Labrador’s people make it such a warm and welcoming place, despite its arctic climate and rough land (I’m kind of sad that I didn’t get to live here during the winter time!). I’ve learned so much about Labrador’s history, culture and mores and feel extremely lucky to have been able to experience them by living here. I got to know a lot more about Canada too, having met the other Katimavik participants from all over, and many people from Labrador. I feel privileged to have been able to live within this community that welcomed our Katima-family with open arms. Goose Bay is such a special town and has so much character! We’ve been to Muskrat Falls, Birch Brook, the Labrador creative arts festival and we even got to go to North West River. We were volunteers at the trapline marathon, participated in the terry fox run. We even got to see the northern lights!! And I’m sure I’m forgetting so much more, but everything we’ve done was amazing.

Not only am I going to miss Goose Bay, I will miss Them Days very much. I enjoyed working at Them Days and truly appreciate the chance that they have given me in letting me work here. I’ve had so many opportunities to learn and experience this type of work fully. I’ve had the chance to work in the archive, go on interviews and transcribing, help researchers and customers and I even got to help a little bit with the upcoming issue! I am so grateful and I feel very lucky to have been able to have a little part in Them Days history, I will miss it a lot! Aimee was such a great person to work with and was always there to help and answer questions whenever I needed it. She was so much fun to be around!

So, with that, I say my goodbye to Them Days and Goose Bay… At least until next summer!

-Caroline

Leave a comment

Filed under Caroline, Katimavik

Leave a Reply

