Heritage Fair Time!

I was just reminded of the fact that it’s Heritage Fair time by an e-mail I had in the inbox this morning. I love the heritage fair time. It’s so exciting! Kayla, one of our summer students from last summer, was actually a fair winner when she was in Grade 8 and got to travel to Ottawa and everything. I have to say, when I saw that on her resume, I knew she’d be a good fit here at Them Days, and she definitely was!

I know lots of students use Them Days for their research. In fact, when I was in St. Lewis on the School Days at Them Days tour, one of the students in the classes I went into told me that he read this blog because he was looking on the Them Days website for information for his project! He already knew who I was and what I did because he was a blog reader! I thought that was so cool.

Anyway, Them Days is a great resource for students who are looking for information. We have two indexes for our back issues, and another index is available online at The Centre for Newfoundland Studies Periodical Article Bibliography. It’s not quite as thorough as our published indexes, but still, very, very useful. (Tip: Go to Advanced Search and in “Search Anything”, put your topic, and then under “Journal Title”, enter “Them Days” so you only get results in Them Days magazine.)

We also have an archive with a wealth of information too. It’s a great opportunity to learn about different types of information sources and about how to use an archive. Don’t know what an archive is? Well, I can tell you all about that too! I have a display set up in our reading room that explains exactly what an archive is and there’s even some cool hands-on stuff involving a pH pen that will help you understand things about the archive. Take a look at our finding aid to get an idea of what we have here.

So if you are interested in doing some research for your Heritage project and you’re in the Happy Valley-Goose Bay area, please, come on down! You don’t have to call, but if you do, we can be ready for you when you come. (Them Days’ phone number is 896-8531.) We are open from Monday to Friday, 8:30 – 4:30 (closed for lunch from 12-1).

Most schools also have a set of Them Days in the school library (I’ve found that not many of them are still complete — so if you are from a company that would like to sponsor some copies for the schools or work with the school board, keep that in mind) and the public library has a set too. So if you would like to use Them Days but can’t get to the office when we’re open, you can use the magazines there too. Or if you’re on the coast, your school library should have a set. If you’re in Rigolet, you’re really in luck, because they’ve got one of the best collections I took a look at!

One of my favourite parts about school was working on projects. I loved doing them! And I’m so old, I did them before the Internet and I actually had to go to the public library and look through a card catalogue for information and get information from books. 😉 (By the way, it is still a good idea to visit the public library and get information from books — it’s just a lot faster to search now!) I even get excited when I know of students working on projects. And Heritage Fair time is so exciting!! It’s one of my not-so-secret wishes to be a Heritage Fair judge sometime. After all, I am the editor of Them Days! It just fits. I know it would be super-hard, but it would be so much fun and I think I would have good advice for the students!

So if you are working on a Heritage Fair project (or any other kind of school project where Them Days could be useful), come down to the office! You’ll find a lot of interesting information here — information that can help you get a good grade on your project!

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, the archives, the magazine

Leave a Reply

