Pre-Budget Consultations

Last Thursday, the provincial pre-budget consultations were in town. I made a speech there on behalf of Them Days, urging for more funding for Them Days and other heritage organizations. It was really interesting to hear what all the other speakers there had to say and what sorts of other things people would like to see in the provincial budget. Finance Minister Tom Marshall was there, and he gave a presentation too, about the provincial budget, and what proportion is spent on this and that, etc. I have to say, I found it really interesting and it got me thinking about budgets in general. Coming up with a budget for the province would be such a huge task! Can you imagine coming up with one for a bigger province, or for the country? (And Canada is fairly small, in terms of population size.) I like making budgets and things like that, but on a much smaller scale!

Anyway, at the end of the night, I gave Minister Marshall a copy of the new issue of Them Days. I forgot to get a picture, but then somebody reminded me, and lo and behold, I had a camera in my pocket! So I snagged him just as everyone was leaving and got a photo, so that’s why we’re in our coats in the Friendship Centre lobby.

Giving Minister Marshall some reading for his travels!

I hope he enjoyed all the stories of the old ways and early days of Labrador!

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, the magazine

Leave a Reply

