Hello from the new summer student!

Hey Everyone!

My name is Chelcie Soroka and I’m the new summer student. I am going into the last year of my journalism degree and have really enjoyed my time here at Them Days so far. I started work around the first week of May and will be here until the middle of July.

Today, Aimee and I did some last-minute edits to this month’s edition of Them Days and sent it off to the printer. Even though I was only here for the last stage of this edition, I’ve already learned a lot. I’m interested in publishing and have spent some time working with the software that most magazines use, including Them Days, which is a great experience. I’ve also interviewed a few people and one of those interviews will be in this month’s magazine!

The atmosphere here at the office is really great and there’s lots of talk about babies and pregnancy with Aimee going on maternity leave soon and Melanie and Jill also pregnant! Morgan is spending her week as the Katimavik house manager but it’s been great getting to know her, too.

I’ve also been reading some Labrador books and writing up some reviews for them, so those will start showing up on the blog in the next few days.

I look forward to learning more about the history and culture of Labador (especially about my mom’s side of the family, the Hopkins’) and getting to learn more about how Goose Bay and other communities have developed and changed over time.

Chelcie

Leave a comment

Filed under Chelcie

Leave a Reply

