Technology is Hard

When I started my volunteer placement at Them Days I was well aware of the fact that I was going to be learning a lot of new things as I carried out my daily responsibilities. I assumed that the majority of these new discoveries would deal with Labrador’s history, the magazine writing process, office work and other things that are obviously present on the surface of Them Days. While I have already learned a lot about all of the previously mentioned subjects, I have also gained an unexpected amount of insight into the technology that I have needed to use on a day-to-day basis.

For example, yesterday I managed to figure out how to make it so that I could digitize s tapes using the program “Audacity” without recording all of the computer g noise, removing my previous need to constantly mute and un-mute the computer whenever I turned a tape over. This is a welcome change, as on my first day of digitizing I accidentally added some less than historical music into the background of a few interviews, requiring me to redo them. The process of fixing my problem only required me to move a few cables around and flip a few virtual switches, but I’m still proud with myself for being able to figure it out without any online tutorials. Go me!

Another lesson in technology that I have learned while volunteering at Them Days is how to fix a cassette tape with a butter knife when it gets disemboweled by a disgruntled s player. I can thank Sarah Michaud, a child of the 80’s for this lesson, and I respect her strength in carrying out a process that no doubt brought back traumatic flashbacks to the horror that is cassette tapes. I’m the kind of person that appreciates the nostalgic value of things, but I still take pleasure in knowing that after I get the historical goodies from all these old tapes onto good, pure CDs, the tapes will slowly deteriorate and eventually be gone, sparing future generations from having to painstakingly pull all the tape back into a cassette whenever it decides to try to destroy its contents.

That’s all I have to say about that.

– Gerard

Leave a comment

Filed under Gerard, Katimavik

Leave a Reply

