66 down, something like 800 to go!

As would-be readers of this blog may already know, my main job as a volunteer here at Them Days is to digitize all the old cassette tapes we keep in the archives so that they may be enjoyed by future generations. What I neglected to mention in previous posts is that the process of digitizing a single cassette tape very rarely takes less than half an hour, and frequently takes over an hour, as the process of recording the tapes onto the computer is as simple as plugging a cassette player into the microphone jack and playing the entire tape.

Therefore, I’m basically at the mercy of the tapes here, and the length of my tasks depends on factors beyond my control, which is slightly daunting. Nonetheless, I’m still enjoying myself, as I’m not expected to complete the entire digitizing task and considering the time it takes for an individual cassette to be copied over, you won’t catch me sneezing at a number like 66 in this context. Also, the novelty of operating a cassette player hasn’t worn off quite yet.

That’s pretty much all I have to say in regards to that subject, so I’m going to go ahead and sign off.

– Gerard

1 Comment

Filed under Gerard, Katimavik, Uncategorized

One response to “66 down, something like 800 to go!

  1. Fiona Horne

    I would like to know if you would do a story on Jessie Michelin of Northwest River. She passed away this morning at the age of 96 in the Long Term Care Facility there. She was well loved and respected. I think she was a great lady who also lead a interesting life. I am her granddaughter.
    You did a piece on my Grandfather Ellis Michelin in Sept1984 issue Vol.10.No.1.
    What do you think ?

Leave a Reply

