An Alarming Welcome Back

As you might have noticed, there was no blog post last week because I was away on house manager duty. In Katimavik, two people in the house take a week off of their work placements to cook and clean for the others, and last week was my turn. We managed not to poison anyone with our cooking, so I’d like to classify that as a success.

Today is my first day back to work, and, in true Alexandra fashion, simply arriving at work involved alarms, emergency phone calls, and the police.

When I got dropped off at the “Them Days” building this morning, I unlocked the door and went to type in the passcode to disable the security system. Unfortunately, me being who I am, I must have remembered the code wrong, because suddenly there was clanging alarms ringing all around me! I spent the next ten minutes alternatively on the phone with the security company and sitting in the foyer with headphones on, waiting for someone else to arrive and enter the code properly to turn off the infernal noise around me.

Eventually, Patricia showed up during one of the sporadic moments of calm (the alarm, although I was unable to figure out how to disable it, seemed to take a few minutes of silence every so often, like a child on a crying jag who needed to breathe for a moment to recharge) and was able to shut off the alarm before it exploded into noise again. In relief, I removed the headphones, went outside to shovel, and was met by a police officer. He had come in response to the alarm going off, so I had to explain that it was my stupidity that had caused the confusion. Since I didn’t end up being arrested, I must’ve made some sort of sense, so I suppose that’s something.

Now that I’ve returned to work, I will have to get back into the swing of things here. We’ve got article ideas pouring in and an interview scheduled for tomorrow, much to my excitement, so things are definitely moving and shaking!

Hopefully though, my future days here won’t involve the police.

Live long and prosper,

Alexandra

Leave a comment

Filed under Katimavik, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

