Final Days At Them Days

I have sat down and tried to write this  blog post so many times, it’s not even funny. The reason I am struggling so much with it is not merely because I’m incompetent though…it’s because this will be my very last blog post for Them Days.

Yes, my rotation here in Labrador is coming to an end. I leave this great place early morning on Wednesday the 28th. Right now, I’m taking a short break from packing and cleaning and cooking to write this up, because, as much as I want to put it off and pretend that I’m not leaving, it’s something I have to do.

My last day at work was last week. I managed to finish up some of the things I had been working on, such as the photo gallery in the centre of the magazine, my Katimavik note, and a sketch or two that might be included. I still feel like I have more I could do, or more I could’ve done, but I hope everyone who gets the magazine appreciates my small contributions. I for one can’t wait for when I get to read it, as I am receiving a copy as well! I know that I will miss everyone on the Them Days staff, especially Tara, as they were all great during my three months here! I felt like part of the team, and I am sad to go.

I suppose it’s  a good thing that we’re leaving now though. My group got to be here during the beautiful winter months and see the massive amounts of snow all around. We got to go snowshoeing and cross country skiing and dog sledding, and experience a lot of things that couldn’t happen in another season. Although I know the snow is still sticking around for a little while yet (tenacious thing, that snow), the next three months will be much more melty and sandy than the ones I was here for! So, if I had to pick three months to be here, these were the right ones.

I hope someday I can come back to Happy Valley-Goose Bay to visit. If I do, I know one doorway I’ll definitely be stepping through once more: that of Them Days’. It was truly the best work placement I could’ve had, and I’m eternally grateful to Katimavik for giving me the chance to be here!

I wish the next Katimavik volunteer much luck in their job here.

For the last time, I’m signing out.

Do me a favour, and live long and prosper.

-Alexandra

1 Comment

Filed under Alexandra, Katimavik, Uncategorized

One response to “Final Days At Them Days

  1. Alexandra,

    I’m going to miss you too! I know the rest of the staff here feel the same way. You have done such a great job and I’m sure you would have kept improving had you been able to stay! Your work has been a huge help to us, and we’re glad you felt at home.

    I hope you enjoy your next location as much as you enjoyed Labrador!
    You’re always welcome here at Them Days 🙂

    Best of luck!
    Tara

Leave a Reply

