Smoky Day in Goose Bay

The day started out pretty hazy, just like the past couple of days. The sky was just a little more white than before, like the clouds were low and, well, smoke-coloured. Then, all of a sudden, while I was sitting at my computer answering e-mails, it seemed like it got dark. I looked out my window and the colour of the sky was one I had never seen before.

The view from my window.

The view from my window.


I went in Daphne’s office. “Daphne, look at the sky out there!”
“I know,” she said. “It’s scary looking. I wish I had my window covering back up!”
So we stepped outside to take a look.
Looking up Courte Manche

Looking up Courte Manche

Looking down the K street way

Looking down the K street way

The sky around Them Days

The sky around Them Days


Wallace and Jill, who were working steadily away in the Reading Room on some archival materials, came outside too.
We all agreed that it’s quite freaky out there. It feels like we’re in some post-apocalyptic movie set right now.
Wallace and Jill came out to see it too.

Wallace and Jill came out to see it too.


In fact, as I write this, it’s only getting worse. The sky is a dark orange now, as I look out my window.
Aimee

For more information on why our skies are so smoky right now, you can read the coverage on CBC.

EDITED: These photos were taken just half an hour later, at 10:26 am. The flash was coming on my camera automatically because it’s so dark out there, and you can see the lights on at buildings. It’s dark, like nighttime out there! And it’s COLD. Today was supposed to be really hot, but without the sun, we’re shivering! Now I know why the dinosaurs all died.

10:26 am

10:26 am

10:26 am

10:26 am

10:26 am.  Notice there's a helicopter with a water scoop on it flying in the sky.

10:26 am. Notice there’s a helicopter with a water scoop on it flying in the sky.

1 Comment

Filed under Aimee, Jill, oddities, Wallace

One response to “Smoky Day in Goose Bay

  1. Irene P

    Please Heavenly Father send down the rain to put out this Fire that’s destroying so much of Labrador. Please help your children of Labrador !!!

Leave a Reply

