My Trip to St. John’s – Visiting the Printers

The day before the courses started, I had a free afternoon in St. John’s, and I wanted to make sure I spent it wisely, because it was working hours. Before I went out there, I figured I would do some visiting, but I wasn’t sure who I’d be visiting until I sent an e-mail to my contact at Transcontinental about the June issue, which was then at the printers. Then it came to me: here I was, e-mailing this person I’d e-mailed dozens of times before, but never met, out in St. John’s: TINA! I would visit Tina and meet her, finally! So I mentioned to Tina in my e-mail that I’d be down in her area (turns out the courses were in the area, and I stayed only a few minutes away as well) and I’d like to meet her. Well, she was just as excited to meet up, so we made plans and she offered to show me around the plant. Woo hoo!

Tina and me, finally meeting after many e-mail correspondences!

Tina and me, finally meeting after many e-mail correspondences!

And then she showed me around. It was really neat, to see how the magazines physically come together. Them Days was in the queue and would be printing a couple of days later, so I didn’t get to see it go through (now THAT would have been cool!) but it was exciting, all the same. It was like being in an episode of How Things Work! I love things like that, and learning about how things are made.

Paper!!

Paper!!

This is a printer, and it's really big.  Look closely, and there are two men in this photo.

This is a printer, and it’s really big. Look closely, and you’ll see there are two men in this photo.

This is where the magazine gets stitched together.

This is where the magazine gets stitched together.

And this...I forget what this is.  Oops.  But I know that Tina explained everything to me really well, so it's all my fault for forgetting, not her teaching! :)

And this…I forget what this is. Oops. But I know that Tina explained everything to me really well, so it’s all my fault for forgetting, not her teaching! 🙂

Cool, hey? I love a good field trip!

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, fun, the magazine, travel

Leave a Reply

