Nain Heritage Forum

This past month has been a complete whirlwind here at the Them Days office! I’ve been out of town on two work trips, each a week long, and we’ve welcomed a few new faces into the office. (There are SIX of us working in here right now!) So I’ve got a lot of updating to do! Of course, I had plans to do all these updates immediately after they happened, but you know, more pressing work would push aside my blogging obligations. So expect a flurry of updates about the past month!

The first is about the annual Nunatsiavut Heritage Forum, which took place in Nain this year. I went to the very first one, in Nain, back in 2010. That’s when I got stuck there for a couple of extra weeks! This time, it was held in June, so I didn’t have quite the same worries–but you can bet that I didn’t extend my visit this time!

As usual, the Heritage Forum was a great opportunity to network with other people working in the heritage industry in Labrador and get ideas for new projects and partnerships.

We were welcomed by the brass band!

We were welcomed by the brass band!


Me, giving my presentation about the past year at Them Days. Ernie and I were the delegates from the Upper Lake Melville area.

Me, giving my presentation about the past year at Them Days. Ernie and I were the delegates from the Upper Lake Melville area.


Ernie McLean giving his presentation about the Labrador Heritage Society.

Ernie McLean giving his presentation about the Labrador Heritage Society.


Carol Gear and Myrtle Groves gave the update about Makkovik.

Carol Gear and Myrtle Groves gave the update about Makkovik.

We did a lot more than just sit around and talk, though–we got out and did things! But more about that in a later post. 🙂

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, travel

Leave a Reply

