Thank you for all the well-wishes!

It really is a very exciting time here at Them Days. With a special publication coming out any day now (the re-print of Snowblind & Seal Finger), the 40th anniversary, and working on the Labrador Fishery issue, I haven’t had time to stop and smell the roses, so to speak (as if there are any roses out there when I look out my window and just see a wall of snow). We’ve had a lot of media coverage recently about our 40th anniversary, and lots of congratulations and well-wishes have been coming in through social media, on the phone, from office visitors, and even when I go out to the grocery store, I meet lots of people who want to say hello and congratulate Them Days on 40 years of publishing.

In addition to the amazing show put on by Labrador Morning, we were also featured in this week’s Labradorian newspaper! Woo hoo! Click here to read the article.

Ooh! Here I am holding the newspaper with Them Days in it!

Ooh! Here I am holding the newspaper with Them Days in it!

We were also featured on the CBC NL website with a photo gallery and everything!

I was also on Here & Now on Friday (skip ahead to about 1:05:10 to see my part.)

It’s all been really great and I really must thank everyone for being so nice, and to the media outlets for thinking our anniversary is newsworthy enough to celebrate.

And, speaking of publicity, I’ve been asked to spread the word for an event that may be of interest to my readers (not a Them Days event, but up your alleys!)

The oldest snowmobile in Labrador is being restored to working condition and will one day be driven on the Labrador coast as it did 100 years ago.

Memorial graduate Jamie Brake, an archaeologist in Nunatsiavut, will deliver the presentation, Recovering Labrador’s First Snowmobile, on Thursday, March 19, from 7-9 p.m. in room 250 at Memorial’s Labrador Institute, 219 Hamilton River Rd., in Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

Organized by the Office of Alumni Affairs and Development, the presentation will include journal entries, photographs and silent film footage. All are welcome. A reception will follow.

To RSVP, call 1-877-700-4081 or rsvpalumni@mun.ca.

I saw that snowmobile last summer up in Nain, so I know this will be interesting!

Aimee

Leave a comment

Filed under Aimee, business/announcements, fun, Radio, Videos

Leave a Reply

