#IDThemDays at the Labrador Winter Games

Hi everyone it’s Terra and it’s been a busy couple of weeks here at the office and beyond.  The Labrador Winter Games took place in Happy Valley-Goose Bay from March 13th-19th and it was a busy week around town.  There were lots of people travelling to Goose Bay from all over Labrador in order to participate the Winter Games which take place once every three years.

In order to bring the project to a wider audience I set up a couple of tables during two of the indoor events with photographs from the project.  I had our portable projector and screen going with a slideshow of some unidentified digitized slide images from all over Labrador.  I also brought some print photographs from our unidentified and undigitized collection.  The print photographs were very popular when people stopped by and several photographs were identified.  It was a great way to get out and spread the word about the project to communities who I am not able to visit during my time here in Labrador.

IMG_20160404_102132

#IDThemDays set up at the Labrador Winter Games.  Photo by Sean Lyall.

I had planned to attend to Northern Games which is the largest indoor event however the dates conflicted with my trip to the North Coast.  I left Goose Bay on Thursday morning March 17th, 2016 and headed to Nain where I stayed for three days before heading to Natuashish for five days.  I managed to get caught in a snowstorm and I was stuck in Natuashish for a few days longer but unfortunately due to the weather I wasn’t really able to use the extra time to my advantage.  Stay tuned to the blog as I’ll post an update on this trip in the next couple of days!

~Terra

Leave a comment

Filed under Labrador Image Identification and Dissemination Initiative, Terra, the archives, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

