My (insert positive adjective here) Summer with Them Days

Time is starting to get a little bit short for me here at Them Days and if it goes by as fast as the rest of the summer has, it’s a good thing that I’m writing this now. Just a day over 3 weeks left! It’s really going to suck to have to say good bye to Aimee, Abby, Brianna and the office before the summer is actually over but I’m heading out to St. John’s for surgery (in which the recovery process will bring me right on up to the start of school).

The past 10 weeks here have been nothing short of rewarding. In the first week here alone, I learned more about Happy Valley-Goose Bay’s history than I did in 13 years of school. Learning about where I am has always been important to me. I’ve always been the one to Google every hotel I’m staying in and everywhere I’ll be visiting. Traveling around, I’ve always been the tourist to ask the Tour Guide an alarming amount of questions and It really surprises me that I haven’t asked more about Happy Valley-Goose Bay in the nearly 18 years that I’ve lived here. Every day that I come into this office I manage to learn something new. For example; I had NO clue that there were 11 atom bombs stored in the woods of Goose Bay…I had NO clue that the Broomfields, Perraults and Saunders were the first families of Happy Valley (Before, they were just really popular last names)… I had NO clue that El Grecos, before it was my favorite pizza place, was a taxi stand… I had NO clue that I would ever take getting a review on Trip Advisor so intensely…or that Twitter could be actually interesting…or that ARC-ANLA was such a massive thing (let alone a thing to begin with).

When I tell people “I’m working with Them Days this summer” it’s always a- “Oh and what do you do there?” and when I say “I’m a tour guide!” It’s always “Tour Guide? What? There’s tours here?” and my response is usually “You haven’t seen 1 one the 250 flyers floating around this town??” followed by plugging the tours until I cannot plug anymore. But when I tell people “I’m working with Them Days this summer”- I take good pride in it. Growing up, I’ve always known what Them Days was and would go through it, looking at the old photos while at the co-op with my mother or while at my parent’s friends’ houses. But one thing I have a brand new appreciation for is the effort that it takes to put together just one of these magazines. So much hard work goes into photo finding and identification, interviewing and transcribing, finding what actually fits in the magazine and what doesn’t, and even thinking of an issue to start in the first place. It’s needless to say that I’ve found a whole new level of respect for Them Days and how hard everyone is willing to work around here to get it done (and always on time at that).

FullSizeRenderThis is a whole new job experience for me. Before I’ve only ever worked in a restaurant and in retail and never had the opportunity to get out, explore and share knowledge with other people. I’m really starting to think that this is my calling, ‘my jam’ if you will.

As I head back to St. John’s for another school year, I’m going to be attending the Tourism and Hospitality Management Program with the College of the North Atlantic. Working with Them Days has helped me realize that exploring the world around me, learning about its people and sharing my knowledge with others is what I exactly want to do with my life. Before- my interest was in nursing and I refused to accept the fact that I wanted to do anything else…but on the second day of this job, Shirley and Aimee sent me to a Tourism and Hospitality workshop with WorldHost and that’s when it clicked. I was won over. This is what I want to do. So shout out to Them Days for solving my teenage identity crisis and sending me in the right direction.

I know this was a sappy post, but a boy needs to let it out sometimes! I’ll be back with our regular programmed, humorous blog post next week!

-Bradley

2 Comments

Filed under Bradley, fun, Summer Students, the magazine, travel

2 responses to “My (insert positive adjective here) Summer with Them Days

  1. Awww, Bradley! If you need me, I’ll just be in the back, sobbing….
    Seriously though, a very nice and touching blog entry! I will miss you terribly when you go back to St. John’s!!!! You’ve been a great worker this summer, and I’m glad you’ve enjoyed your time here as well. Thank you so much for your hard word these past several weeks. It’s very much appreciated!

  2. Douglass (with 2 "S's"

    A very well written piece, Bradley. Your change of direction sounds as though it will be the right choice. And although I’m sure that you’ve already done so, please thank Aimee for a job well done.

Leave a Reply

