Kerra Quigley -Archivist Assistant

Summer is starting and students are getting back to work. I’m back for the summer to work at Them Days as the Archivist Assistant. My responsibilities have changed but Them Days is still familiar territory to me. I’m now a third year student at King’s College, and now I’m doing a double major. Social Anthropology, Creative Writing, and Journalism as my minor. School’s been a very big focus of mine all year, so it’s refreshing to be in a work environment.

 

kerra

My hobbies remain mostly the same, I read, write, draw, I take more time for  long walks rather than swimming laps now though. I’m ready for the weather to warm up so I get to ride on my motorcycle. My family has some fairly deep roots to this community. It’s nice to get to learn more about Labrador and how my family’s ties into it’s history.

My goals for the summer are to learn more about maintaining the archive. To sharpen my research and organization skills. To gain skills I can use towards my degree. To learn more about my community, and to improve my writing skills through our Them Days Blog.

This summer is going to be busy, when it gets a bit warmer we’ll be starting up Them Days tours. We’ve also got a lot of new donations to sort through and a big to-do list we fitted to the frame of our door. I’m looking forward to the rest of my time here. It’s gonna be packed, but that’s a part of the fun.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment